Endo Sister Story – Tori

Chronic-pain-sufferers

Note from Mara: I’ve been asking my fellow Endo sisters to share their stories. The more we talk about the disease, the more we break myths and empower each other. Keep talking! Keep raising awareness! And keep fighting!

This is Tori’s story…

—-

I’m Tori, 27 and married to an amazing and supportive husband. No babies yet, but we’re hoping for the future! I’m an accountant and working on a little side business in health and wellness. I’m passionate about lifting women up, being a support system and helping women love themselves from the inside out! I’m close to my family and have an amazing group of friends who love me even when I bail on plans and rarely go out!

When it comes to my diagnosis of endometriosis, I know I was relatively lucky. After only 1-2 years of the more extreme symptoms, I was diagnosed. I was also one of the lucky ones that not only could I tolerate having the Mirena IUD, but it basically made me symptom-free for ~4 years! That 4 years ended about 18 months ago when my symptoms started reappearing. At first, it was all IBS related stuff. Then the severe, deep cramping, bowel pain started. I dealt with it as best I could. I had the IUD removed at the 5-year mark and my husband and I were going to stop preventing pregnancy to see what would happen. This meant no birth control or hormonal treatment for the first time since I was 14 (I was on BC or the IUD, or lupron for 13 years straight – half of it with my period completely absent).

Going off BC brought the symptoms back to life… strong and hard. The last 6 months have been absolute hell and torture on my body and my mind. And this is what inspired “endo.fit” (my account on Instagram) to be born. I needed a way to express myself and get everything out, without bombarding my poor husband!

I realized Endo had sent me to a very dark place. And I knew I needed a way to escape it. I found a few separate ways to help myself through this journey.

While I try to remain positive, I’ve also been working on a complete and total mind shift! I definitely let myself wallow and grieve, because we lose a lot dealing with endo. I try to not grieve too long, and if I have a hard time getting out of it, I reach out and ask for help. I give myself grace and love, instead of anger and hate… like I used to.

I look for the good, and not the bad. I take time for myself. And I try to help other people. 

Another way I live through endo, is to not hide it. I don’t shove it in people’s faces, they have the choice to follow me on Instagram or not, but I’m open about it. I answer any and all questions, and while I still put on a fake smile and happy mood at times, if I feel awful, I feel awful and I’m just not going to take the little energy I have to cover it up!

Lastly, I found my passion in fitness and nutrition. I am striving to take care of my body as much as possible. I am working every day to love my body and myself from the inside out. I work out every day, even if it’s just a walk. I feed myself healthy and nutritious (most of the time) food. I work hard at it, even when I don’t want to. Because I know it helps my mind, my body, and my endo. I’m also trying to help others through this journey because I know how much it has helped me!

All in all, endo has changed my life. While I would love for the pain, fatigue, bloating and other fun symptoms to go away, it really has given me a new outlook on life.

I don’t let the little things bug me as much. I try to live life to the fullest (when not in a flare up) and I am so much more grateful for what I have and what I can do!


You can follow Tori and her inspirational journey on Instagram – @endo.fit

Leave a comment